Homemaking · Uncategorized

A Little Goes a Long Way

cleaning-house-2Housework, laundry, cooking, kids, sports, church, work. As moms, wives and homemakers we are busy people. Life gets overwhelming, and it’s easy to fall behind on our daily tasks.

I have tried many systems over the years of trying to keep on top of everything, but none seem to work on a long term basis, because one size does not fit all.

There are some things however that I’ve learned over the years that are helpful in keeping things caught up. So when those busy days come I am able to feel like my head is at least above water.

Before Bed Pick Up – After the kids have gone to bed and right before my husband and I head that way, I do a quick pick up around the living room and kitchen. I fold throw blankets, pick up the odds and ends that have accumulated through out the evening and put them back where they belong. It’s a blessing to wake up to order in the morning.

Dishes – Load the dishwasher and run it before bed. Nobody wants to wake up to stinky, crusty dishes. Blech!

Laundry – A dirty word! But a necessity none the less. There are six of us in my family. That six includes three teenage boys and a husband that works a physical job. Laundry is my nemesis. BUT, I refuse to let it be my master. I used to have a laundry day every week, but I found that I would have so much it was overwhelming and would take me literally all day. I had no time for anything else. I also had to factor in the possibility of something ‘coming up’ on my laundry day and me not getting it all done, which meant carry over to the next week. Being a slave to the laundry room- no bueno! So, I now do a load or even two every day, and more often than not my laundry basket is empty by the end of the day.

Here’s how to get started. Designate a day to get all of your outstanding laundry done so you start with a clean slate. You need to enlist your kids! I have my kids bring their laundry to the basket every evening before they go to bed, and I put a load in right before I go to bed. First thing in the morning I switch it over and add another load if I have one. As soon as your dryer load is done, pull it out and fold it immediately, then take it to the appropriate room and put it away. Or if your kids are old enough have them put it away. It only takes a few minutes of your time, rather than letting it pile up and taking hours to sort. It takes discipline to establish a routine, but it is so worth it.

Bathrooms – Yuck! I hate cleaning bathrooms. Once again, it is necessary and if you have a desire to be hospitable and have people in your home, the last thing you want to offer them is a dirty bathroom. Gross. A great tip is to keep a toilet brush, cleaner and Clorox disinfecting wipes in the cabinet under every bathroom sink. Every morning, I do a quick wipe down of the toilet, sink and mirror so at least my bathrooms are guest worthy and the weekly deep clean I do doesn’t become a two hour job! I spend maybe five minutes on each bathroom every day. Easy!

Bedrooms – Make your bed! Sorry to break it to you, but grown ups make beds! Yes, ‘adulting’ is difficult, but really, it takes thirty seconds to make a bed. Do it. It will feel so much nicer and look way tidier. It’s a good habit to get your kids into also. How can you tell them to make their beds if you don’t.

The point of this post is this, it takes discipline and may involve getting up just a few minutes earlier. A little bit of work every day will bring peace of mind and much less stress to your every day.

Leave a Reply

